Girl Talk // Loving Yourself and YOUR Body

Hi angels,

Image-1 copy

// photo credit to: Zali Bartholomew //

I decided to start a series called ‘Girl Talk’, where I share my views, opinions and advice on life as a girl. I want to cover the main issues such as Anxiety/Stress, Bullying, etc. Today’s issue is going to be ‘Loving Yourself and YOUR Body’.

Well let’s get this straight – loving yourself is the key to confidence in life! You are all beautiful, handsome and astounding in your own way (the list goes on!). You should never copy someone else’s lifestyle/actions, be yourself and be unique. I was constantly bullied a lot a few years ago for being too ‘skinny’, too ‘small, a ‘smart ass’, and the list goes on! I then started this blog in December 2013 to share my ideas and views about issues, and most of all, to just have fun! This is a space where I can vent and talk to other people who are going through the same things as me, and give tips and ideas on things I have struggled with. But just remember, you are NOT alone! You have your family members, friends, teachers etc that you can talk to when you are going through the wars.

One thing I have learnt is to NEVER go on a diet just because someone called you fat. That is never ok, and if you feel like you have to you should talk it over with your parents or guardians first. All those teenage stereotypes are fogging our brain with thoughts such as ‘I have to be as skinny as her’, ‘I am so overweight!’ and more! Be confident in your own body, because its you that can change anything and everything in your life. If you feel like you need to lose weight never starve yourself, do running, confiscate junk food or go on a healthy food route. There is always your GP to help you, they will give you friendly advice on how to lose weight a more natural way.

Think about the positives about yourself not the negatives. What I mean by that is, if you look at yourself in the mirror and say mean things to yourself, your decreasing your own self confidence! If someone else says something about your body or yourself in general, don’t believe them, your the only one that can change your perspective on your body, not other people. You are not perfect, neither are you a nobody. I honestly believe being perfect is not about what you look like on the outside, its the inside. Being perfect doesn’t mean that you wear lots of makeup on, you are really skinny etc. It is about being who YOU want to be, not what others want you to be. It is about being kind, open-minded towards others and overall just believing in yourself.

If you ever feel you don’t love yourself or you want to go on a diet, please call the Kids Helpline or talk to your parents. You are perfect in YOUR OWN way, never let anybody change that. Compliment people in your community, even if it is just saying ‘your hair looks really gorgeous today’. That sort of comment can really make someone’s day, and can help them with their OWN self confidence problems.

Thank you so much for reading this post, and remember that you are all perfect in your own way. My next ‘Girl Talk’ post will be a 10-15 day course on how to boost YOUR self confidence. Also, thank you so much for 350 followers on my instagram, it is so amazing that I have reached that number. If you haven’t already, please follow me on my social media that is on the left. If you ever want to talk to me about something you have read in one of my posts or some ideas for Girl Talk posts, please email me in the contacts tab. Remember you are all unique in your own way and you should love yourself no matter what!

xx angie

instagram ~ https://instagram.com/angelloveblog/                                           pinterest ~ https://www.pinterest.com/angelloveblog

Author: Angie

I am Angie, a 12 year old confetti lover, illustrator, food-aholic and fashion enthusiast.

9 thoughts on “Girl Talk // Loving Yourself and YOUR Body”

Leave a Reply

